Unit 2 Slowly getting organised…

From my great delay in making my way through this course you may assume I am highly disorganised! I of course would like to think otherwise. Being a Visual Arts educator we rely on lots of sources to inspire our students. How do I currently organise visual resources, technical displays and references to historical and contemporary artists? With lots of folders, cabinets for posters, bookshelves full of magazines and books which increasingly students just aren’t interested in referencing. “Let’s face it who needs to when you have Google images, eh Miss!”
Web clips and You tube clips/sites are located in the reasonably well organised Favourites drop down box. Visual images for projection are kept in a series of folders under Pictures. Related word documents and Power points are all kept in fairly well organised folder system on my hard drive. However, I acknowledge that valuable time is taken opening the series of folders to arrive at the desired resource. I can see that Evernote will be fantastic in drawing all these related resources together when presenting information to students or reflecting on long lost web links.
Passing on organisational skills to students is crucial to long term success. I often find myself trying to assist students to develop good organisational skills in Year 12, by which time it is almost too late. Current strategies used by students appear to be almost non-existent in some cases, to maintaining diaries, folders with divided notes and the occasional use of mobile phones to record important information or dates, as well as their laptops.
Digital technologies and internet access have most certainly changed the way we organise ourselves and store important information. A positive aspect is the movement toward a paperless society. A negative aspect is the multitude of information and sifting through it in order to retain that which is most valuable and reflects our current needs.
I can see the great value in the tools we have been exposed to in this Unit, but at times is was incredibly frustrating and not good for my blood pressure! As I am unavailable for Wednesday night conferencing tutorials, I have had to struggle through what was a considerable amount of content and tasks independently. At times I have been thwarted by the Eduspace Security for some reason which made accessing and viewing the Video tutorials difficult at times. But I think it was worth it in the end and now I will have to put Evernote in particular, to good use!
The following is the requested link to my Evernote: https://www.evernote.com/shard/s302/sh/d81f62de-eea3-41aa-bf52-970b523e6870/a9022f51cadacd9b8ae0d7cb9805ce02
Hope I’ve got it right!

One response to “Unit 2 Slowly getting organised…

  1. Glad to hear that you like the look of Evernote- hopefully as they develop Evernote even more it will become more visual, so perfect for people like you who have a range of visual resources.
    It’s hard to teach students fundamentals in Year 12 as there is so much content, and I think it does need to be taught earlier (and needs to be an ongoing process in all subjects).
    I’m sorry to hear about your frustrations, hopefully we can see you in one of the web conferences soon. It sounds like you’ve had to call on your perseverance to make it through, but sometimes that leads to the best learning.

Leave a comment